Home › CME by state › Kansas

Kansas CME requirements 2026 rules for physicians, NPs, PAs, CRNAs and CAAs

Kansas regulates five clinician professions through different boards, each with its own continuing-education rules: physicians (MD/DO), nurse practitioners (APRN/NP), physician assistants (PA), nurse anesthetists (CRNA) and anesthesiologist assistants (CAA), who practice here under an anesthesiologist's delegation. Below, each profession's total hours, mandated topics, opioid/controlled-substance rule, and tracking, plus the one federal rule they share. Physician rules reviewed September 27, 2026.

Section 1 of 5

Physicians (MD / DO)

Set by the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. Verified September 27, 2026.

Total CME50 / year (20 Category I + 1 Category III min)
Renewal cycle1 year
TrackingSelf-report (attest at renewal)

General CME: 50 hours per year.

Opioid / controlled substance

1 hour per year (1–3 per cycle): pain management, opioid prescribing, or PDMP use. Trigger: all.

✓ No board pre-approval needed: generic ACCME Category 1 counts.

All mandated CME topics

TopicHoursTimingApplies to
Controlled substances / pain / opioid / PDMP (Category III) 1 per annual renewal all licensees (not just prescribers)

Citation: Kan. Administrative Regs. §100-15-4(d)

Section 2 of 5

Nurse Practitioners (APRN / NP)

Set by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (KSBN), separate from the physician rules above, with its own hours and topics. Verified July 20, 2026.

Total CE30
Renewal cycle2 years

General CE: 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education (CNE) per 2-year licensing period, and for APRNs the hours must be 'related to the advanced practice registered nurse role.' Licenses expire Dec 31 of even-numbered years. Waived if license expires within 30 months of initial licensure exam or within 9 months of reinstatement/endorsement.

Opioid / controlled substance

No standalone state opioid/controlled-substance CE mandate identified for this profession. The federal DEA MATE Act (one-time 8-hour training) still applies if you hold a DEA registration.

All mandated CE topics

No additional mandated topics identified beyond the total above.

Tracking: Self-report/attestation at online renewal; no proactive submission and no CE Broker. Licensees must retain CNE certificates/transcripts (offering name, provider/accreditor name and number, date, contact hours, licensee name and license number) for production if randomly audited. APRNs must retain offering certificates plus learning objectives when APRN-role relevance is not stated on the certificate.

Section 3 of 5

Physician Assistants (PA)

Set by the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (KSBHA), separate from the physician rules above, with its own hours and topics. Verified July 20, 2026.

Total CE100
Renewal cycle2 years

General CE: Biennial (2-year) cycle: at least 100 CE credit hours, of which at least 40 must be AMA PRA Category I and at least 2 must be Category III. Annual (1-year) renewal option: at least 50 CE hours, of which at least 20 Category I and at least 1 Category III. Category I = board-approved educational presentations; Category II = board-approved self-study/group activities; Category III = internet or live activity on the mandated pain/opioid/PDMP topics.

Opioid / controlled substance

2 hours, every 2 years, for holders of controlled-substance prescriptive authority. Timing is built into the free multi-state planner.

All mandated CE topics

TopicHoursTimingApplies to
Opioid / controlled-substance prescribing 2 per renewal cycle: 1 Category III hour for each year of the chosen cycle (2 hours biennial / 1 hour annual) all licensed PAs (Category III is a general renewal requirement, not limited to prescribers)

Tracking: Self-attestation at renewal via KSBHA; subject to random audit. No CE Broker. Retain CE documentation for verification if audited.

Section 4 of 5

Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA)

Set by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (KSBN): licenses Registered Nurse Anesthetists under the Kansas Nurse Anesthetist Act (K.S.A. 65-1151 et seq.) and K.A.R. Art. 60-13; RNA authorization carries a fee-free APRN license (K.S.A. 65-1154), separate from the physician rules above, with its own hours and topics. Verified August 24, 2026.

Total CE30 contact hours of approved CNE 'related to nurse anesthesia' per 2-year license period (K.A.R. 60-13-112(b)); these same hours also satisfy the RN renewal (K.A.R. 60-13-112(h); K.S.A. 65-1159).
Renewal cycle2 years

General CE: K.A.R. 60-13-112: (a) RNA license subject to the same biennial expiration dates as K.A.R. 60-3-108 (RN, last day of birth month, odd/even year by birth year); (b) 'Each individual renewing a license shall have completed the required 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education (CNE) related to nurse anesthesia during the most recent prior licensure period'; up to 15 hours instructor credit (f); no duplicate offerings in same period (e); (h) 'All CNE accumulated for RNA license renewal shall also be applicable to the renewal of the registered professional nurse license.' K.S.A. 65-1155: authorizations expire every two years concurrently with the nursing license. K.S.A. 65-1159: renewal requires meeting 'the continuing education requirements for a registered nurse anesthetist as developed by the board or by a national organization whose certifying standards are approved by the board', current RN licensure, and fees. KSBN Information Center: APRNs/RNAs complete 30 contact hours of approved CNE in the advanced practice role before renewal.

NBCRNA recertification counts toward state CE (partial). Statute permits CE 'as developed by the board or by a national organization whose certifying standards are approved by the board' (K.S.A. 65-1159(a)), which would allow NBCRNA CPC/MAC Class A credits to satisfy the 30 hours, but the regulation (K.A.R. 60-13-112(b)) states a flat 30 contact hours of approved CNE related to nurse anesthesia and KSBN renewal pages list 30 hours with no NBCRNA-in-lieu option. NBCRNA-approved Class A credits generally qualify as approved CNE. Whether KSBN accepts NBCRNA recertification status alone (without documenting 30 hours) is not stated. Confirm with KSBN. National layer: NBCRNA continued certification (4-year cycle: 60 Class A + 40 Class B credits, MAC Check).

Opioid / controlled substance

No standalone state opioid/controlled-substance CE mandate identified for this profession. The federal DEA MATE Act (one-time 8-hour training) still applies if you hold a DEA registration.

All mandated CE topics

TopicHoursTimingApplies to
Anesthesia-specific CE Confirm with the board 30 per cycle all CRNAs

Tracking: Self-attestation at online renewal; RN and RNA/APRN renewal applications both filed; retain CNE certificates for random audit; no CE Broker.

Some figures are marked “Confirm with the board”: the research could not pin them to a primary source. Verify with the board.

Section 5 of 5

Anesthesiologist Assistants (CAA)

Set by the None for CAAs (Kansas State Board of Healing Arts regulates the delegating anesthesiologist only), separate from the physician rules above, with its own hours and topics. Practice pathway: physician delegation. No state CAA license exists; you practice under an anesthesiologist's delegation and the state imposes no CE of its own. Verified August 24, 2026.

Total CENo state license, no state CME requirement. CAAs practice on delegation from a supervising anesthesiologist; employers/credentialing bodies typically require current NCCAA certification (50 hours CME/2 years per NCCAA) but the State imposes none.

General CE: Kansas has no licensing act for anesthesiologist assistants. They practice under the Healing Arts Act exemption in K.S.A. 65-2872(g) and the physician-delegation duties in K.S.A. 65-28,127, under which a physician may 'direct, supervise, order, refer, enter into a written agreement or practice protocol with, or delegate to such persons only those acts and functions which the supervising or responsible licensee knows or has reason to believe can be competently performed by such person' and only within the physician's 'normal and customary specialty, competence and lawful practice'. The ASA lists Kansas as a 'delegatory authority' state. No state CME rule reaches CAAs; NCCAA certification maintenance is a professional/credentialing matter only.

NCCAA recertification counts toward state CE (partial). Not applicable at the state level (no state requirement). Facility credentialing generally requires current NCCAA certification. HB 2368 (2025-2026) would have required Board-approved exam and 'evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education required by the board'. National layer: NCCAA certification (50 CME hours every 2 years, 40 anesthesia + 10 general, plus the CDQ exam).

Opioid / controlled substance

No standalone state opioid/controlled-substance CE mandate identified for this profession. The federal DEA MATE Act (one-time 8-hour training) still applies if you hold a DEA registration.

All mandated CE topics

No additional mandated topics identified beyond the total above.

Tracking: None at state level (no license). Facility credentialing / NCCAA tracks CME.

Federal: DEA MATE Act (all professions)

One rule is the same for every profession on this page. Every DEA-registered prescriber (physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and any CRNA or CAA who holds a DEA registration) must complete a one-time 8-hour training on treating patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, as a condition of DEA registration/renewal (since June 27, 2023). It is federal and applies in every state, and it does not replace Kansas's recurring opioid/controlled-substance CME. A MATE-qualifying accredited course will usually still count toward your state general CME/CE total. How the MATE Act differs from state rules

Authority: MATE Act §1263, Consolidated Appropriations Act 2023 (21 U.S.C. §823).

Notes (physician data)

Licensed in more than one state?

Pick your profession and all your states in the free planner and get one 5-year schedule that batches your opioid/controlled-substance CME so a single course covers as many licenses as possible.

This page summarizes Kansas board rules and statutes as of September 27, 2026 for five separately-regulated professions: physicians (MD/DO), nurse practitioners (APRNs), physician assistants (PAs), nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), and anesthesiologist assistants (CAAs). Each is governed by its own board and its hour totals and mandated topics differ. Never assume one profession's figures apply to another. Physician data is compiled from FSMB and state medical-board sources; APRN/PA data was validated against nursing- and PA/medical-board rules on July 20, 2026, with the opioid/controlled-substance timing structured on July 23, 2026; CRNA and CAA data was researched against nursing-board, medical-board and practice-act primary sources on August 24, 2026 (items the research could not pin to a primary source are marked “Confirm with the board”). This is educational information, not legal advice. Always verify current requirements with your own board before relying on them.